WSFRL How it started

The idea of the League was that of David Bridges who at the time was recreation officer for Horsham District Council and also that there was a need for a similar league in Sussex for joggers and fun runners without the serious intensity of road and cross-country racing under AAA’s rules.

David Bridges called a meeting at his home, via the local press and “Jogging Magazine” (now “Running Magazine”) which took place on 22nd October 1982. Such was the interest that it was standing room only. Representatives at that original meeting were:

League Representative David Bridges
Sponsor’s Representative Oliver Sellars (Infopress Ltd)


Arunners Norman Crook (formerly Littlehampton Glasshouse Crops Research Institute)
Horsham Joggers Carol Clift & John Otway
Portslade Hedgehoppers Norman Collingbourne
Worthing & District Harriers Peter Long
Appleyard Amblers John Taylor & Mike Simmons
Barns Green Keith Hotchkiss
Crawley Joggers Jack Shelton
Distillers CO2 Runners Martin Jones
Lodsworth Village Margaret King

A race calendar for 1983 was agreed and ProNutro, a breakfast cereal company, agreed to act as initial sponsors until June 1983. The Barns Green half-marathon arose out of this meeting and, although no longer part of the League’s race calendar, continues successfully today. The first race calendar was as follows:

January Worthing 2 miles
February Horsham Joggers Valentine 3 miles
March Worthing Harriers Cissbury Ring 2¾ miles
April Tortington 10 km
May Portslade Hedgehoppers 5½ miles
June Distillers C02, Reigate 5 miles
August Arundel 7 miles
September Washington Village, Chanctonbury Ring 4 miles
October Barns Green ½ Marathon
November Appleyard Amblers. Warninglid
December Lodsworth Village

Interested parties not at the meeting but subsequently involved in the League’s creation were:

Arena 80 AC Ron Grover
Holmwood Hounds John & Pam Chiverton

A scoring system reflecting participation, as well as winning, the award of spot prizes and the key principle that events should be cheap to enter (£1 per runner), with the net proceeds ideally being donated to charity, were all agreed. The League’s constitution and method of scoring are detailed later.

From Past To Present

Since that initial meeting a number of changes to the scoring system have been made, the last fundamental change being made in 1989, but the general ethos of the League has remained, namely to encourage jogging for those of all ages and abilities. Today 17 clubs comprise the League as follows:

Club Vest Colours, current clubs only
Appleyards Amblers
Arunners (formerly LittlehamptonGlasshouse Crops Research Inst.) Purple & White
Barns Green
Crawley Joggers
Crawley Run Crew  Black, white lettering & red stripes
Distillers C02 Runners
Horsham Joggers White, Maroon & Grey
Lodsworth Village
Arena 80 AC
Holmwood Hounds
Portslade Hedgehoppers White, Orange & Blue
Worthing & District Harriers Green, with red/white diagonal stripe
Biwater Shellabear
Cranleigh Runners
Surrey Stragglers
Trumpton Trotters
Brighton Hash House Harriers
Saints & Sinners Yellow & Black
Chichester Runners Green and White
Fittleworth Flyers Gold & Emerald
Lewes AC Red & Gold
Southwick Strollers
Lancing Eagles Blue & Yellow
Henfield Joggers Green & Black
Hove Hornets Orange & Black
Steyning AC White with 2 black diagonal stripes
Goring Road Runners Black with fluro yellow under arms
Haywards Heath Harriers Maroon & White
Shoreham College Shufflers
Burgess Hill Runners Light & Dark Blue Quarters
Worthing Striders Orange & Black

Separate events for juniors are now organised by many clubs and an advice sheet for juniors and their parents is available.

Public liability insurance up to £10 million is paid by the League covering all events included in the League’s race calendar.

To celebrate the League’s 10th Anniversary a relay event was held in 1993 in the grounds of Christ’s Hospital School with individual trophies presented to all participants. This relay was subsequently held in Hove Park until 1997, with the proceeds being used to finance the League’s expenses. The relay was held again in 2003 and 2004 organised by Portslade Hedgehoppers. A team trophy was donated by Arena 80.

How To Join

Clubs wishing to join the League should contact the League’s co-ordinator and should show a commitment to the League by entering League events in the year prior to formal application at the League’s AGM in November. A five minute presentation to League clubs at the AGM should be made giving details of the club, members etc after which each club in the League will vote on the application as set down in the constitution.